Turkey Taco Lettuce Wraps

Healthy version tacos!

4

This is one of my favorite healthy versions of tacos. Ground turkey lettuce wraps: taco version. Instead of using shells or tortillas (which I do love) I used iceberg lettuce. It’s delicious and adds a great crunch without the calories.

photo

Ingredients:

  • Ground turkey
  • Taco seasoning mix
  • White Onion
  • iceberg lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Fat Free Cheese

I use 93% lean 7% fat ground turkey. It’s healthier and I promise you can’t even tell it’s not beef.

I’m a cheese lover. However, it’s really high in fat. I used fat-free cheddar ch for my tacos, you can’t tell a difference when it’s mixed with the other ingredients. It’s only 45 calories and NO fat for 1/4 cup. It’s worth the swap.

8

First step: brown your meat! Don’t use oil, just use a non-stick pan, the turkey releases enough fat juice to keep it from sticking. Using oil will just make it higher calorie. (1 tbs of olive oil is around 120 calories. Even though it’s good fat 1 tbs has 14 grams of fat-not helpful if trying to lose weight!)

7

Add your seasoning packet. Okay, I admit I got the cheesy taco seasoning so I had to use 3/4c of fat-free milk. However, it was delicious!

6

5

When the turkey is done you just need to assemble. I did a lettuce wrap (above). My husband did a taco salad (below).

3

Yummy! I also had enough left over for lunch today.

Calories per 2 lettuce wraps: 250

Enjoy

&teri

Leave a Reply

