My first Half – Training Plan

After nursing an ITB injury for the past year I am finally increasing my mileage. I decided to train for a half marathon. My first ever. I started running in college and my long runs were consistently 6 miles. I never got past that though. Then my IT band started up. I couldn’t get past 3 miles. It would flare up at the 2.75 mile mark and I would push cry through the last quarter mile.

I took 6 months completely off from running.

I started back up slowly after nursing my injury (I’ll post more on that later) and have finally been able to increase my mileage. I decided a half sounds like a fabulous challenge. Here is my training plan.

http://cdn.running.competitor.com/files/2012/05/44_nat.pdf

http://cdn.running.competitor.com/files/2012/05/45_nat_r2.pdf

It has been great and a huge challenge. I have increase my long runs to 8 miles. Next week will be 9. 

&teri

One response to “My first Half – Training Plan

Leave a Reply

