So this is “backcountry” hiking

Recently I was fortunate enough to be able to break away from the typical routine of: “run, cross train, run again, cross train some more, run until it hurts…” you get the picture, and incorporate a different type of workout. It’s nothing jaw dropping, or unheard of but it was such a nice break from my normal workout schedule.

Hiking.

Yup, that’s it. Hiking. CJ and I went to the North GA Mountains and hiked the Coosa backcountry trail. It’s a 12.9 mile loop that is considered strenuous, and boy was it challenging. In a good way! 😉

DSC_0029

This really was a different hike than I am used to. The hikes I have been on in the past have been more in the range of 6-8 miles and very popular and busy. This one was narrow and I think we passed 3 people the entire 6 hours we hiked.

DSC_0068

This was lunch. We took an hour and a half to eat, rest and get ready for the last 5 miles. Yes, the hammock was necessary! Probably my favorite thing ever.

DSC_0036

So basically, we beasted those 12.9 miles. It took 6 hours to complete for us. It was hard but totally worth it.

Hiking really is a great form of exercise. My heart rate was elevated and I burned a lot of calories. I also worked a lot of muscles that I don’t “normally” use. It is also a stress reliever being in the outdoors. It was so nice to break away from my normal busy life and take some time to enjoy spending time with CJ and enjoy nature.

 

&teri

Follow on Bloglovin

3 responses to “So this is “backcountry” hiking

  1. Pingback: My Monday Favorites | Otherwise Simple·

  2. Sounds like a great time. If you’re a runner, it seems like trail running is becoming popular, at least out west. Of course, it’s not without its controversy, but if you can find a long trail where you don’t run into anybody…

Leave a Reply

