Fueling during a Long Run

I’m not going to pretend like I run 40 miles per week. Because frankly, I don’t.

Yet. 

The past 6 months I have been trying my best to increase my weekly mileage by the old faithful 10%. That is one important thing to remember. Don’t increase your weekly mileage more that 10%, or you will at some point have an injury. Mine was ITB syndrome and it was one the most frustrating things to deal with. The past 6 months have been the first time since my injury 2 years ago that I have been able to increase my long runs. Yeah…I basically took a long time off of running. It was depressing. I’ll write more about that in another post.

Fueling during a long run.

photo

As a general rule- you need to be hydrating during your run if it is longer than 60 mins. Which is anything over 6 miles for me.

If I am running more than 6 miles or if its SUPER hot outside I make sure I used my handy Salomon Belt

photo 2

Key things for fuel:

  1. H2O
  2. Electrolytes
  3. Carbs

H2O

-Drinking the right amount of water is key during long runs. It keeps your ligaments and joints lubricated (preventing injury). Also, general dehydration can really drag you down. Rule of thumb- drink 12 oz every 20 min. (Increase-almost double- that amount if its really hot or humid) Drink at least 16oz of water 90 min prior to your run. (Don’t chug a bottle of water right before you run- it will leave you feeling bloated and it takes around 20 mins for your body to absorb the water you just drank)

Electrolytes

-Electrolytes are things like; sodium, potassium, magnesium, chloride, bicarbonate, ect. Simply put- they maintain a balance of electricity between our organs and cells for proper function. When you sweat, you loose these and they need to be replaced. Make sure you are drinking/eating something to replenish those during a long run (and even more so if it’s really hot). I usually fill one of my 12 oz bottles with Gatorade Perform. It has electrolytes and carbs in it.

Carbohydrates

-No, you don’t want to eat a slice of bread while running. I’m talking the G2 gels and the energy chews that contain carbohydrates for refuel. Most have electrolytes in them too. I take a pack of the Honey Stinger Chews with me and pop one in every mile to mile and a half. This is just how I do it. I find that a small continuous fueling works best for me. If I wait too long to eat a few energy chews I just can’t seem to get my energy back up. You want to be consuming 15 g of carbs every 30 mins during long runs.

So those are the essentials. Make sure you run safely!

&teri

(I do not claim to be a licensed professional/expert)

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

