A-Juice-A-Day Recap

Juicing.

It seems to be the fad recently. I watched a documentary recently and they had a segment that focused on juicing. They reference the documentary “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”. You have probably heard of that one. Basically this documentary convinced me I am malnourished. This is probably more true than it is not.

So I gave it a go.

My plan: incorporate a juice a day for 5 days. No meal replacements. Just adding it to my diet.

Welcome to juicing 1994 style:

photo

Seriously, don’t judge me here. My mom was gracious enough to let me borrow her juicer from 1994-potentially exaggerating a bit. (She went through her own juicing phase at one point). I suppose juicing has been around longer than I realized. But really, I wasn’t going to buy a new juicer just for a “test run”.

Day 1: Carrots, Apples, Ginger. This one wasn’t bad. It was sweet but definitely tasted more like carrots than apples!

Picture2

Day 2: The green machine. Apples, cucumber, kale, celery, ginger, lemon. “ehh”. Seriously, this is how I feel about it. Eh. It was drinkable but not refreshing. I’m not going to lie to you. First of all, I am not a fan of cucumber. At all. I like celery and kale. This juice was just bland. I finished half of it though because I knew continued to remind myself how good this is for me.

2Day 3: It was the other half of day 2.

Day 4: I promise it’s not mud! Apples, carrots, celery, ginger, kale (NO cucumber). I really don’t like cucumber. This one was good too. It wasn’t sweet tea, but still, I drank the whole thing.

4

Day 5: My favorite and a keeper. Apples, celery, lemon. THIS was refreshing. Very good!! Next time I’ll add a 3rd apple but I only had 2 left. This is by far my favorite of the juices I tried.

5

Okay okay, now to the nitty gritty:

1. How much time did it take to juice? The actual juicing didn’t take that much time. It was the preparation and cleanup. Washing and cutting all the veggies/fruits and then the cleanup. Cleaning the machine was the biggest hassle.

2. What would you change? Mainly just changing up the ingredients. As  I continue to juice I will play with different combinations. (ie: spinach, beets, pineapple, pear, grapefruit, ect)

3. How did you feel? The biggest difference was my energy level. I really and truly did have more energy than usual. Which resulted in me being extra motivated to work out and run.

4. Overall thoughts? I am a fan. I think it’s mainly just finding the combinations I like and sticking to those. I will definitely continue to incorporate juicing into my diet. If you are considering trying it, give it a shot! Then make up your mind.

Maybe it’s time to invest in a juicer from the 21st century? 😉

Thanks MOM

&teir

Have you ever juiced?

Please share your favorite juicing combinations!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 responses to “A-Juice-A-Day Recap

  1. Thank you for another informative blog. Where else may I get that kind
    of information written in such a perfect way? I’ve a project that I am simply now working on, and I’ve been at the look out for
    such info.

Leave a Reply

