Skinny Peanut Butter Cookies

photo (1)

I’m not a cake eater. Nor brownies or cupcakes (don’t hate).

But…

I love cookies.

And…

I love peanut butter.

So…

Naturally, I love devour peanut butter cookies. I usually make a  super unhealthy version of peanut butter cookies. They are oh so yummy but I won’t even tell you how much sugar is in them. I figured it was time to make smarter choices so I decided to make a healthier version. Recipe is adapted from a weight watchers recipe book that I can’t find the name of. 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbls all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 4 tbls unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar. packed
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips (adds sweetness)

photo 5

Step 1: Combine flours, salt, baking soda in bowl and set aside.

Step 2: Mix butter and peanut butter. Beat in egg, brown sugar, and vanilla.

Step 3: Gradually add flour mix to peanut butter mix. Mix until combined.

Step 4: Stir in peanut butter chips.

Step 5: Preheat oven to 350.

Step 6: Drop spoonfuls of cookie dough on greased cookie sheet (I always use foil or parchment paper-easy cleanup!).

Step 7: Press in criss-cross with fork.

photo 1

Step 8: Bake for 12-15 mins, until bottoms are browned. Cool on wire rack.

Nutritional information per cookie:

  • Calories: 96
  • Fat: 5g
  • Carbs: 5g
  • Protein: 3 g
  • Fiber: 1 g

Enjoy!

&teri

I WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU!

1. What’s your favorite type of cookie?

2. Poll: crunchy or creamy peanut butter?

Leave a Reply

