Raise your hand if you like tempo runs..

I did my first purposeful tempo run yesterday. Yeah, I guess I’m getting all serious now with my running.

It was exactly what I expected it to be.

I mean I guess tempo runs aren’t supposed to be the one you look forward to all week.

It was a 6 mile run (1 mile warm up, 4 mile TT, and 1 mile cool down). I felt great for most of the run. The last half mile of my tempo miles (around mile 4.5) my quads started screaming fatigue. I pushed through though and finished strong! My motto that last .5 mile was that I’m getting stronger. I believe it too.

On another note here is my October workout wrap up:

Picture2

Picture3

Picture4

Week of September 30- October 6th (major recovery week)

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Run 3.12 miles
  • Wednesday: Run 3.3 miles
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: Rest

Total mileage: 6.42

Week of October 7th-13th

  • Monday: Total Conditioning (60 mins), 5 mile run
  • Tuesday: Run (3.78 miles)
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: Run (6 miles)
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Run (3.8 miles)
  • Sunday: Run (4.69 miles)

Total mileage: 23.27 miles

Week of October 14th-20th (Lazy week)

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Run (5.3 miles)
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: Run (4.5 miles)
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: Rest

Total mileage: 9.8 miles

Week of October 21st-27th (Week in Jamaica)

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday:Rest
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: Run (8 miles)

Total mileage: 8 miles

Week of October 28th-Nov 3

  • Monday: Total Conditioning (60 mins)
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: Run (4.1 miles)
  • Thursday: Tempo Run (6 miles)
  • Friday: 30 min Core work, 45 min weights
  • Saturday: Run (10 miles)
  • Sunday: Rest

Total Mileage: 20.1miles

October was not super awesome when it comes to my consistency in working out. But hey, did you really expect me to be running while in Jamaica? Me either. 🙂

November will be better.

My Monthly motivation: Jamaica

photo 3

Talk to me:

1. Do you do tempo runs?

2. Do you like tempo runs?

2 responses to “Raise your hand if you like tempo runs..

  1. Pingback: November 2013 Workouts | Otherwise Simple·

  2. Pingback: Speedwork, Yurbuds and It’s Cold | Otherwise Simple·

Leave a Reply

