Curry Rice and Veg aka (Biryani)

I finally have started cooking with curry. I love the spice but had never cooked with it until recently. Now it’s probably one of my top 5 favorite, most used spices. Here is a recipe I made recently, inspired by The Feed Zone Cookbook.

Biryani (curry veg and rice)

b5Ingredients:

  • 2 cups jasmine rice cooked
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 2 + cups chopped vegetables (carrots, broccoli, squash, zucchini, onion)
  • 1-2 tbs curry powder
  • chicken (optional- I am going to add next time)
  • 1/4 cup cashews or peanuts (optional)

b1Step 1: Bring oil to medium high heat

Step 2: Add all chopped vegetables, saute for a few minutes to soften the vegetables just a bit

b2Step 3: Add curry powder. (I start with 1 tbs and add more to taste)

b3Step 4: Cook the vegetables down a bit and make sure curry powder is mixed well

Step 5: Add rice to pan, cook until curry power is evenly distributed (8-10 min) Also add cooked chicken here if you want.

b4Step 6: Add salt and pepper to taste (I added a bit of salt)

Step 7: Serve and Enjoy!

b6

This makes amazing left overs too!! I had it for lunch all week.

Enjoy!

&teri

Talk to me:

1. Do you like Curry?

Leave a Reply

