Half Marathon Recap

First off – hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. It was a great day for me! Here’s a quick snap shot of my day.

  • 8:00 am – finally got out of bed
  • 8:05 am – grabbed some coffee and did by devotional reading
  • 8:15 am – grabbed my 2nd cup of coffee
  • 8:30 am – ate my pre-run meal (banana and scoop of peanut butter)
  • 9:15 am – got dressed, foam rolled and started my warms ups. Ate half of my honey stinger energy waffle
  • 10:00 am – headed out the door for our half
  • 12:30 pm – returned from our run, stretched, showered, drank my recovery drink (chocolate milk)
  • 1:15 pm – started cooking mac and cheese
  • 2:30 pm – headed to the in-laws for turkey
  • 6 something – headed back home
  • 10:00 pm – crawled into bed

It really was a great day!

Here’s my recap from my first half marathon

My clothes: (It was 23 degrees outside by the way)

IMG_20131128_090219Here is what I put in my handy dandy belt:

IMG_20131128_091035We were out the door. The run itself went by so fast. Much faster than I expected. I listened to a few podcasts and before I knew it we were on mile 10.

At mile 6 I was really dragging: not the “my legs are tired” type, but like the “I could go to sleep right now” type (I really did think that to myself). HA So I ate the other half of my honey stinger waffle and it really perked me up.

Now, I didn’t set a PR. My sister in law ran hers in a darn 2:01:00- SHE killed it. ME…eh. I finished! 🙂 CJ and I did it in 2:25:50. But now I have a starting point for the rest of my half’s.

CJ was so sweet and got me chocolates to celebrate! Didn’t take me long to tear into these.

IMG_20131127_193621

My stats:

half

It felt great to finish. I wasn’t even running a year ago (due to injury). So I am proud to have come so far this year!

CYMERA_20131128_193040

Also. Note the bottom right corner picture. Yeah…we feasted.

&teri

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

1. Did you run on Thanksgiving?

Me: 13.1 baby

2. What’s your favorite thanksgiving dish?

Me: green bean casserole

5 responses to “Half Marathon Recap

  1. Pingback: October Workout log, a throwback and what I’m making Monday | Otherwise Simple·

  2. Pingback: November 2013 Workouts | Otherwise Simple·

  3. Pingback: My Monday Favorites | Otherwise Simple·

Leave a Reply

