BBQ Fiesta Pizza and Whole Wheat Crust

I make pizza about once a week so CJ got me a pizza stone for Christmas. I asked for it. Let’s be honest, a pizza stone is so much more legit than making pizza on a cookie sheet (no judgement if you use a cookie sheet). I just make it so much I figured a pizza stone would be a great investment.

Pizza

I made a new kind of pizza the other night. Inspiration from Iowa Girl Eats (She rocks by the way. I wish I could cook like her.)

BBQ Fiesta Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

Confession: I have decided I don’t like whole wheat crust. Next time I will use regular. But for those of you who are all about whole wheat everything I have included the crust recipe. 

Crust

  • 1 pkg instant dry yeast
  • 2.5-3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 2 tbsp. oil

Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Add oil and salt to water. Mix water into flour until dough ball is formed. Kneed on lightly floured surface 3-5 min. Place dough ball in lightly greased bowl, cover with a clean damp towel and place in warm area until dough ball has doubled in size. Once dough has doubled punch dough down and then spread/roll onto pizza stone (or baking sheet).

BBQ Pizza (the ingredient amounts are adjustable depending on how much you want of each and how big your pizza is)

  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup bbq sauce
  • 1 – 1.5 cup corn
  • 1 – 1.5 cup black beans rinsed and drained
  • 2-3 roma tomatoes cut 
  • 1/2- 1 cup mozz. cheese
  • fresh cilantro 

pizza4

Step 1: Spread the bbq sauce on the pizza

Step 2: Top with corn, black beans and tomatoes

Step 3: Top with cheese

Step 4: Preheat oven to 400 deg F and bake the pizza 15 – 18 min until dough is cooked and cheese has melted.

Step 5: Remove from oven and sprinkle with chopped cilantro. Serve

Pizza3

Pizza2

This recipe was such a win. I can’t wait to make it again on regular crust. 😉 Next time I will also marinate cooked shredded chicken in some bbq sauce and add it to the pizza.

Enjoy!

&teri

TALK TO ME

1. Whole wheat or regular crust for you?

Me: regular

7 responses to “BBQ Fiesta Pizza and Whole Wheat Crust

  1. Pingback: What’s not cookin’ | Otherwise Simple·

  2. That looks amazing!!! I am trying to find a good gluten free recipe too. My mom uses grated cauliflower and cheese…delicious but doesn’t stay together very well!

Leave a Reply

